Board of Directors

The board is primarily responsible for setting the broad direction of the company by approving strategic objectives, key policies and financial performance criteria.

Accountability to shareholders and responsibility to other stakeholders remains of paramount consideration in board decisions, being balanced against the demands of the regulatory environment in which the group operates.

Lawrence Kego Masha


Lawrence Kego Masha is the Managing Partner of Ishengoma, Karume, Masha and Magai. Previously, Mr. Masha was Tanzania’s Minister for Home Affairs (Feb 2008 –Nov. 2010). In 2005, he was elected as Member of Parliament for Nyamagana Constituency. In 2006, he was appointed Deputy Minister for Energy & Minerals and Deputy Minister for Home Affairs between 2007 and 2008. He has been Managing Director of Tanzania Oxygen, a Board Member of Tanzanite One (T) Limited, and a Founding Council Member of the Dar es Salaam Stock Exchange. Since 2008, he has been a Board Member of Blue Financial Services. He is also Member of Tanganyika Law Society and East Africa Law Society. In addition to his legal practice, Mr. Masha is a director and shareholder in Basix East Africa Limited, as well as Eco–protection Tanzania limited, Tanzania’s leading waste management company.


Reinhardt Swart
South African

Managing Director

Reinhardt Swart is the Managing Director of Tanga Cement PLC . Reinhardt has expert knowledge in cement manufacturing which he has gained over 16 years’ experience in the industry. Other positions previously held by Mr Swart include a Consultant in the Group Technical Services division of Holcim (Switzerland), Process Engineer, Process Performance Engineer and Maintenance Manager, culminating in his position as General Manager of AfriSam’s Dudfield cement production facility. He held the position of General Manager for six years before he was seconded to Tanga Cement PLC to oversee the successful implementation of the TCCL expansion project.

Rob Wessels
South African

Acting Chief Executive Officer

Mr Rob Wessels was appointed Acting Chief Executive Officer in March 2017. Prior to his appointment as Acting Chief Executive Officer, Mr Wessels was a long-standing Non-Executive Member of AfriSams Board of Directors and was integral to the financial restructuring of AfriSam and Phembani acquiring a 31% shareholding in AfriSam.

He also held the position of Executive Director at Phembani Group and was previously the Head of Advisory as well as Head of Corporate Finance at Nedbank Capital. He holds a B.Com, LLB degree and is a CFA Charterholder.

Pieter C de Jager 
South African

Executive Director 

Pieter has more than 20 years experience in senior management roles in a number of sectors including engineering, manufacturing, FMCG, transport logistics & warehousing, metals & mining and cement manufacturing.

For the past 10 years he has held the position of Chief Financial Officer and Director to the Boards of various multi-national companies, predominantly in the mining and metals sector. He served as executive and non-executive director on the Boards of companies listed directly and indirectly (on subsidiary boards) in South Africa (JSE), Canada (TSX), Australia (ASX) and Tanzania (DSE).

He has considerable experience with corporate actions such as mergers & acquisitions, reverse listings, capital fund raising, debt reorganisation, group restructurings & unbundling, feasibility studies and company valuations. He also assisted in setting up governance structures and developing board subcommittees for listed corporates and professional bodies.

He has also worked in the harshest of operating environments ranging from the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia, Swaziland, Uganda, Tanzania, and is well experienced in the challenges posed in Africa and he brings valuable learnings with him.

Khamis Omar 

Non-Executive Director

Khamis Omar is the Principal Secretary, President’s Office – Finance, Economy and Development Planning in Zanzibar. Mr. Omar also serves on various boards including the Zanzibar Revenue Board, Bank of Tanzania and the Tanzania Revenue Authority.

Mr. Trevor Wagner 
South African

Non-Executive Director

Mr. Trevor Wagner is currently retired but serves on a number of boards as a Non-Executive Director, including Robor and Xuba Polymer Industries. He also serves as Chairman of Idwala Provident Fund. He was previously Group Financial Director at the Alpha Cement Group, which subsequently became AfriSam Holdings (Pty). He was a shareholder and Deputy CEO of the Group, responsible for finance, administration, human resources and business strategy. Mr. Wagner started his career as an Audit Manager at PriceWaterhouseCoopers. He is the past Chairman of SAICA’s Northern Region and a past member of SAICA’s National Board.

Patrick Rutabanzibwa

Non-Executive Director

PatrickRutabanzibwa is currently the Country Chairman of PanAfrican Energy and a member of the Board of Directors for the National Housing Corporation (NHC). He served as Principle Secretary for a number of ministries in the country inclusive of Ministry of Energy and Minerals, Ministry of Lands, Housing and Human Settlement Development, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of Water. Mr Rutabanzibwa holds a Bachelor Degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Loughborough.

Raymond Mbilinyi 

Non-Executive Director

Raymond is the Executive Secretary of Tanzania National Business Council (TNBC).
Mr. Mbilinyi is a Board Member in; The Tanzania Industries Licensing Board (BRELA), Victoria Microfinance Co; and the Tanzania Private Sector Foundation (TPSF). He has over 18 years of professional experience in Africa.

Mr. QureshGanijee

Company Secretary

Quresh is currently the Company Secretary. He served on various positions such as Assistant Company secretary, Cost Accountant and Payroll Administrator. He is a registered member of ICSA International and National Board of Accountancy and Auditors. Mr Ganijee has 10 years’ experience in financial sector.